Tags

, , , ,

Ok, I promised to share this awesome recipe last week & never quite got back to it.  I received it from the Yahoo GFCF diet group & then (of course) tweaked it my liking.  These are more like a cake donut than a yeast donut but are great all the same.

We kept them in the fridge for over a week (because I made 3 batches!) with no effect on quality, other than that they got a little dry by the end of the week.  Obviously they are best fresh, hot out of the oven, but that’s a baked good truth.

Vanilla Donut Muffins

2/3 cup sugar
1 1/2 cups GF flour mix (I tried BH Featherlite mix or 1 cup brown rice flour, 1/2 cup millet flour, 1/4 cup tapioca flour, both good)
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp xanthan gum

2 eggs
1/2 cup milk sub (I used rice and soy, same good results)
1/3 cup oil (I used coconut or canola)
2 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 375, line muffin cups or grease well.

Cream together eggs and oil until smooth.  Add milk & vanilla.  In a separate bowl, mix all the dry ingredients.  I like using a whisk to ensure good blending.  Add dry ingredients to wet slowly, mix until just blended.  Fill muffin cups about 3/4 full.  Bake for 13 minutes & sprinkle with a little sugar & cinnamon mixture.  Bake an additional 2-5 minutes, or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.  Yum. Yum.

Or, if you are a chocoholic, like me, you’ll love the Chocolate Donut Muffins.  Omit vanilla & mix 3 tbsp of cocoa powder (don’t be shy, if you’re going to have chocolate, do it right) into the dry ingredients.  Also, skip the cinnamon-sugar sprinkle at the end. 

This makes between 10 – 14 muffins, depending on pan size.

