Tags

, , , ,

Sorry I haven’t been back to update the site for quite awhile. I needed a Gluten Free blogging break to get some perspective and assess how things were going at home.

I also author a second blog at It’s All About Potential, so that’s where I’ve spent a bunch of this break time.

Anyhow, back to GFCF blogging. We had a relatively quiet Christmas, with very few infractions that I am aware of. We knew Christmas day was going to be hard for Nathan, so we didn’t even try to keep his diet clean. Mostly, he does it himself anyhow. He won’t touch regular bread now and loves his “special” foods. The only thing he misses is cheese, so I know he snuck a bit of that. He also got into peanut butter slice – which has margarine and butterscotch chips in it. Not exactly CF, so I pushed Houston enzymes all day.

We didn’t notice any changes in his behaviour nor did it seem to affect his digestion at least for most of the week. By New Year’s Eve though, he was getting pretty high-pitched and whining a lot. And I mean, A LOT.

The main problem I see, apart from the infraction, is that we also ran out of Biotin about Christmas day. So, New Year’s Eve I started him back on Grapefruit Seed Extract (GSE), 2 -4 drops per day. That was the problem folks. He’s full of yeast again. He had a couple of BMs that were classic yeast, so we’ll keep at the GSE until that clears and then back to Biotin for maintenance. Before Christmas he was taking about 1000 – 1200 mcg per day, which is hardly any, I understand, but it seemed to be keeping him level.

I’ll try to get this baby updated quickly. I have so many product review ideas and recipes to share!

