Tags

, ,

I decided about a month ago (when I had over a case of almond milk in the cupboard) to cut out the soy milk in our house. Don’t get me wrong, I love soy milk. The flavour, the texture…yummmmm. But, everything I read suggests that soy proteins are so close to gluten and casein proteins. It seemed prudent to at least give Nathan a chance to challenge soy.

We don’t have a DAN! Doctor. Heck, we hardly even have a primary care physician. It’s not because we’ve been dropped, just that I haven’t taken the kids in for “well child” exams & they don’t get sick that much. But, I digress.

The point is, we haven’t done lab testing of any kind. I am doing all this by observation, trial and challenges. As well, I almost have a Google doctorate in Autism now. (I may also own nearly every title Chapters carries on Autism) When we pulled casein, I saw behavioural changes immediately. When we pulled gluten a week later, Nathan started making eye contact and was able to sit still for more than a few moments at a time.

I have to say, I saw no real changes pulling out the soy. We’re not soy free though. We continue to use wheat-free Tamari sauce (soy) and find soy lecthin nearly impossible to avoid. So, that may be part of the reason for “no change”.

But, I know that in my own body, simply limiting gluten makes a huge difference. I can have some, occasionally, and not feel too awful, but am best to avoid it in large quantities. So, I wondered if I reintroduced the soy milk, just what would happen??

Crying. Emotional meltdowns. Anger. Easily frustrated.

Nathan had a small glass of soy milk at supper on Thursday night. He may have had a second small glass on Friday. Friday a.m. – he was an emotional mess, but did ok at daycare.

Saturday a.m. – again, completely a mess. Crying, unreasonable, frustrated with everything. We fought all morning, about everything and anything. By about 4:00 I had my kid back.

So, Nathan & I talked about it & decided that we’ll take the soy milk away again for another month. We’ll challenge it again in 5 or 6 weeks and then I think we’ll know if he can handle soy.

