We really like fish, particularly the milder white fish, like basa, cod, tilapia, halibut, pickerel (etc.)  My husband’s all-time favorite indulgence is Joey’s Only seafood, where he orders 3 piece fish & chips that is heavily battered & lots of tartar sauce.  I’ve never been able to replicate that batter, so I’ve given up on that mission.  I am sure my waistline & my heart says “thank-you!”

One fish coating we really like though was quite easy to  convert to gluten free.  Here’s the recipe:

 

Favorite Fish (with CF substitutions in brackets)

1 lb white fish fillets

1/4 cup milk (sub)

1/3 cup brown rice flour (or gf blend)

1/3 cup gf cornflake crumbs

1/3 cup grated parmesan cheese (omit)

1 tsp dried dill weed

You’ll need 3 bowls.  Place milk in  first bowl.  Flour goes in the second bowl.  In the third bowl, combine cornflake crumbs, dill and parmesan cheese.  (Which of course you leave out for the CF folks!)  When I make it, I first do the CF ones, then add in the cheese & make the non-cf ones.  Pictured in GFCF, coarse crumbs.  Sometimes we like it fine, sometimes coarse. 

100_2662

Dip fish fillet in milk, then in flour, then in crumb mixture to coat all sides.

100_2663

 

100_2664

Bake on a shallow tray – on parchment paper for nicest results – at 450 for 4-6 minutes per 1/2 inch thickness, or until fish begins to flake when tested with a fork.

 

We like to serve it with fries or brown rice.  Round out with some steamed vegetables for  a complete meal.  Oh, and hubby says, don’t forget the tartar sauce.  We’ve found that Lynch Classic Tartar sauce does not irritate me & contains no “warnings” or ingredients to be avoided.

