I think I’m lucky that an infraction, even one as large as Saturday’s, doesn’t affect Nathan for long periods of time. He was still without much volume control yesterday and his eye contact was all over the place, but essentially, the crazed behaviour was gone.

Improved eye contact was the first thing I noticed in going to the diet, so it makes sense that it would also decrease immediately too. Nathan also mentioned, several times, that he’d had a “rough day” on Sunday. It’s nice that he acknowledges the bad day. Now, I have to get him to connect that to the infraction. One thing at a time.

I gave him about 8 drops of GSE yesterday and a long Epsom salt bath before bed. He has some pretty purpley-black rings around his eyes, usually a phenol reaction but can also be from being overtired. I think we’ll keep an eye on phenolic foods today & see if there is any improvement by the evening.

You know, I wouldn’t have considered Nathan a “great responder” to the diet, but as it turns out, it is one of the best things we’ve done for him. So, if you are on the fence about it, I implore you, give GFCF a chance. You have nothing to lose and might gain your child!

