There has been a recent study released by researchers at the Mayo Clinic that has found “restrictive diets may not be appropriate for children with autism”.

Well goody.  So the researchers took 100 kids with autism and tried them on a strict GFCF diet for 3 months and saw no benefit, right?

Nope.

Well, they must have tried a strict GFCF diet for at least a month, right?

Ummm.  Nope.

Here’s what they did  (cut and paste from the article): Researchers at the Mayo Clinic reviewed the medical records of over 100 autistic children over an 18-year period and compared them to more than 200 children without the disorder.  (bold emphasis mine)

Perhaps I should repeat that, in case you missed it.  They reviewed MEDICAL RECORDS. 

Well, I have never mentioned GI problems to our doctor.  I have never mentioned that I had concerns about his BMs, odor or odd food choices.  It never occurred to me.  We haven’t done a “well child” exam on him since age 4 months.  Every other time we went to the doctor it was for an infection, a possible concussion, a broken bone.  Never once did the doctor say “and how are his bowels today?”

My point?  The study makes no sense.  My son has obvious, real GI issues and yet he would have been found to have none in this study. 

I am going to simply ignore this study, as I have every other flawed study that has ever been done.  I suggest you do the same.

If GFCF is working for you, why do you need some researcher to “prove it”?  The proof is sitting in front of you, in conversation, in eye contact, potty trained and social.

Please, be an advocate for the GFCF diet.  Remind people that we once said many things were impossible.  Going to the moon was impossible.  And yet:

 

We choose to go to the moon in this decade and do the other things, not because they are easy, but because they are hard, because that goal will serve to organize and measure the best of our energies and skills, because that challenge is one that we are willing to accept, one we are unwilling to postpone, and one which we intend to win.”

 

I think President Kennedy’s words ring true for us today, as well. 

