It occurs to me on a pretty much constant regular basis that all this Biomedical intervention has the possibility of bankrupting not only me but thousands of other families.  And, if it doesn’t bankrupt me, it surely will put a “crimp” in our lifestyle that other families simply don’t have.

Don’t get me wrong.  My child is worth every single penny.  Hearing him talk, watching him play with others, learning to read, enjoying his toys, these are all things that money cannot buy, right?

Well, I’d argue that he wouldn’t be doing a lot of those things without all the diet, supplements and therapy he is getting.  But, that is besides the point.

We are lucky that all of Nathan’s therapies have been covered by Provincial programs.  Well, all that he’s been able to access.  There are tons of behavioural interventions (ABA, RDI, Floortime) that he couldn’t access, partly because it took too long to get a diagnosis and partly because we don’t live anywhere near a place where he could get access to more.  I would have gladly paid to send him for 1x weekly therapy, it just simply wasn’t an option.

But back to my original thought.  We are doing biomedical basically on the cheap.  We have done no formal testing (at $500-1500 per test), simply gone on symptoms, research and faith.  We only just finally saw a DAN! last month ($250 for the visit, plus nearly $00 in supplements) and haven’t begun to explore things like HBOT (to rent one is about $3000/month).  For us, we’ve gotten results, great ones, from diet and some supplements.  I think more can and should be done.

What about those who are doing more?  I know.  I know.  The therapies they are trying aren’t proven to work.  Point is, someone has to try them in order to know if they do or do not work.  So, instead of supporting these families, we find them having their electricity turned off because they spent the hydro bill money on therapy.  I guess I just don’t understand it at all.

I fully buy into the concept of “pay now or pay later”

As in – you pay for treatment now or you’ll be paying for a lifetime of care. 

I just wish the rest of the world could see it that way too.  So, here’s just a thought – if you know someone who is really struggling to get by this month & you have just a little extra, why not slip them $10?  It isn’t much but it seems that all we have in the biomedical community is each other.

If you are interested in doing more, visit Tori at Lend4Health.  She’s matching people who need a short term loan with folks who have a bit to give.

