Tags

,

Remember I said I was off to visit my parents this weekend?  Well, the GF went fine, I didn’t make a big deal out of it & didn’t really talk about it, other than to say I thought it was working.  My aunt was there and commented that her sister, mother, uncle and my dad all have the same “sun allergy”.  I knew my dad was sun-sensitive, but had not heard about everyone else.  Hmmm.  Maybe there is something genetic going on?

So, I’ve been trying to stay out of the sun a little more and wearing lots of sunscreen.  Up until my serious eczema outbreak, I was religious about sun protection.  But, doctor ordered “nothing but water” on my skin so I quit.  And, broke out in terrible rashes, especially on the left side – where my skin is exposed when driving…  Fortunately, a day of being out of the sun, my skin is clearing up really quickly.  My hands are still a bit red but nothing like they were pre-gluten free.

I’m trying not to get my hopes up that a GF diet could be a symptom manager for me.  After all, it has been 15 days, only slight infractions.  I’m not seeming to react to those, but it is hard to tell since my skin is not perfectly clear.  Maybe those little bits are hindering my progress.

But, I’m enjoying my new food lifestyle and it isn’t causing friction anywhere just yet.  I need some relief from this eczema and so far, the GF diet is doing it.

