Tags

,

It’s a bit rainy and miserable looking today and even though it is Saturday, it feels like a Sunday.  It could be because I’ve been off work for a week, so my days are all goofy.  But either way it feels like a Sunday.  And you know what that means?  Sunday Brunch.

No, not the kind you go out for.  The kind I make.  Eggs, bacon, toast, hashbrowns, potatoes…yummy.  I think we’ll be skipping the hashbrowns, I’m not wasting new potatoes on those.  I’m thinking about pancakes though, yummy pancakes, gluten free, yes the two go together.  Here’s a super easy one that I like to take on the road with me.  Yes, I travel with a small container of xanthan gum – that way I can always sneak in a kitchen & whip up something that will be safe, without causing my hosts too much bother!

Cornstarch Pancakes

1.5 cups cornstarch
1 egg
1 tbsp baking powder
1/8 cup applesauce
1/8 cup oil
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp sugar
1 cup vanilla milk sub (or plain)
1/4 tsp xanthan gum

Mix all ingredients very well.  It is a thin batter that thickens on standing (that’s your xanthan gum at work!).  Ladle out about 1/4 cup per pancake onto a hot frying pan.  These are very pale pancakes and will golden up nicely.   These freeze very well and make a great PB&J sandwich too.  Makes between 8-12 pancakes.  If you want, add more milk to thin them & you can almost make crepes from this recipe.  (Maybe you actually can, I couldn’t get wheat crepes to work either…)

Simple, tasty and fast. Enjoy!

