Tags

,

As I journey along the Wahls Protocol, I find myself eating a wider variety of vegetables than ever before.  For instance, I had never tried kale, beets (other than pickled, yuck), or leeks.  I have always enjoyed my veggies, it’s just that I tend to stick with peas, carrots, broccoli, corn and cauliflower.  My kids think they’ve won the lottery when I serve broccoli (they are weird, I know) so I guess I must have done one thing right as a parent.

The point though, is that the seemingly never ending need to eat 9 cups means I get full or bored, sometimes both, of eating my vegetables.  I’m not ready yet to go totally into Wahls Paleo, though I am trying to incorporate more animal protein, particularly the fish.  I saw a suggestion to use smoothies to fit in the greens, and that my friends, has been a lifesaver. 

Next tip, soup.  I love leek soup with mushrooms, garlic, onion and bone broth.  Broccoli and cauliflower soup are also great choices to get in those sulfur rich vegetables.  A cup with lunch, a cup with supper and I am well on my way.

Newest tip – veggies and dip.  I adore veggies and dip to eat up all the coloured vegetables.  Mashed avocado and a bit of lemon juice and salt makes a tasty dip for carrots, cauliflower, broccoli, mushrooms (sulfur!), peppers and peas.  I like my vegetables raw as much as possible.  I’m not sure Dr. Wahls cares, it’s just my preference. 

How are you getting in your 9 cups?

 

 

