Tags

, ,

Do you know the three words that strike fear into my heart? That’s right “Mom, I’m hungry”.  You would think it would be something like “Mom, I’m hurt” or “Where’s my homework?”  But no, I have hollow legged boys who are always hungry. Does it matter that they just ate, exactly 12 minutes ago?  Does it matter that there is literally no food left in the fridge for their school lunches tomorrow?  Is there are a reason I ask such pointless questions??  Sigh.

So, because I am constantly feeding the monsters, I need some cheats. I need a few packaged, easy to prepare, low brain power items for those mornings I simply cannot cope.  You know, Mondays.  And possibly Tuesdays, depending on how bad Monday was.

My new friend in GF world has become Gluten Free Bisquick.  I bought it on sale, thank-you Sobey’s, and thought it might save me from a meltdown someday.  Yes my friends, MY meltdown.  The monsters will eat whatever you put in front of them, the problem is getting it to them fast enough!! Today was that day, I needed carbs, sweet and fast.

GF Bisquick is made with rice flour, sugar, potato starch, xanthan gum but MAY contain soy.  So, if you are soy free and sensitive, maybe skip this one.  Also, the package suggests keeping it in the fridge once opened.  I made the waffle recipe right on the back of the box and it was glorious.  Perfection.  In fact, I think I might be in love.

Directions suggest 1 1/2 cups of mix, 1 1/4 cups milk (I used soy), 3 TBSP oil (I used coconut) and 1 egg.  I blended the ingredients:

photo 1

Dropped them by the 1/3 cup full on to my trusty waffle baker:

photo 2

And waited for them to be done. The first four, I cooked all the way through, so I could enjoy them immediately.  The next four I under baked just a tad so they finish cooking in the toaster later.  These babies freeze beautifully!

photo 4

A little coconut oil on top and some maple syrup and I was in GF Waffle heaven.  Love, love these waffles.  My only complaint? The package is pretty small, so probably 2 batches and it’s done.  But, it’s a small price to pay for convenience and bliss. Happy Monday!

 

